Question about DAWS

Skorr

Aspiring Producer
I am a beginner trying to learn how to learn production software, specifically ableton (Which I've heard is the most useful but also the hardest to learn) and was wondering if it would be better for me to use other software first such as fruity loops or other daws to get my foot in the door and start making beats... Any tips/ advice would be much appreciated...

[Preference]

No daw is the hardest, but many daws have some features not present in others in the box.
The only person who can choose is you, there are free trials of almost every popular and obscure daw out there to try out but it would be wise to watch tutorials on the ones that look interesting by design and workflow.

[No set way]

It does not matter what daw is the "first" all that matters is if learning one daw helps you understand in general how daws are usually laid out and how to associate the functions across the board, which is basically just memorizing menus when it comes to the navigation aspect.

[Types of daws]

Pattern-based[Fl studio/ableton/lmms]
Timeline- based[reason/studio one/cubase]

Last edited:
Thank you that helps a lot Kang!

I am very pattern based and since posting I've learned more about ableton and am willing to stick with it! thanks for the advice!

People usually use a certain DAW because it was introduced to them first, or they like the workflow, etc. For example I was introduced to FL 7-8 years ago, I knew of no other program or what DAW even stood for so I just went with it. It would make more sense for me to just stay with it at this point since I'm so comfortable with it and I'm still learning to this day.

I hear Abelton is pretty good at live performance stuff IIRC, and FL is good at constructing patterns, melodies, etc. I say pick one you like best and fits your flow and go with it.