how long does it take to get hang of reason ?

There is no answer to this question sir. You will have to tell us how long it took you to get a grasp of the basics before you can go any deeper. The only way to find out is experiment and then experiment some more. Ive been usine Reason since 2008 and I am still learning new things often.

As far as what kind of music, EVERY kind of music can be produced for any type of format (rap, blues, movies etc). Its not what its who. Dont quit and try everything.

a: however long it takes depending on how often you use it and your pace of learning
b: any music you want

All daws make the same thing, all genres can be made everywhere.
Will be years to learn a daw to comfort level.
Wish reason allowed disabling auto ssl mixer connections tho...
Some things I'd rather do the reason 5 way by default.

I'm not an active Reason user, but I will add this much.. its a fantastic way to learn the concepts of synthesis and sound routing, sound design, etc. Its the most graphically oriented music production app available. I know a lot of people who start at Reason and end up elsewhere once their interests outgrow what's available in Reason.

Historically, Reason is easily the most stable full-featured music production system I've used. It may be different now with Rack Extensions, but its lack of plug-in support has made it more stable than pretty much any music production tools that provide plug-in support. (i.e. 3rd party plug-ins can significantly effect the stability of the host app)

As for learning curve, you might want to consider using GarageBand on the Mac if you want to learn the basics. If you don't have a Mac, consider some of the 'light' versions of DAWs that are out there like Reason Essentials. Or consider running the demo version of Reason before you buy anything.