FL Studio/midi keyboard help

Professor John

Hello,

I received a M-Audio KeyRig 49 for Christmas (which has been great, easy to use, ect.) and I've been using FL studio for around 7 years, but obviously I have not used a midi-keyboard within FL studio which leads me to the following questions.

When recording a score to a pattern, I understand you are supposed to use the snap function for FL studio to place the note is supposed to be played (at least in my head) when there are minor differences in timing between my playing and what I hear in my head. Which grid snap do you guys use/found the most accurate? I feel like I've seen many videos on YouTube where people appear to be seamlessly recording to the metronome and then their FL puts it right on time.

Secondly, as of now, I appear to be only able to score 16 beats at a time. What I mean by this is, I'll have a pattern I want to play, but it is longer than the 16 beats that you can set up on the sequencer. Thus when I start to record the pattern, the first 16 beats seem to record fine, but when I get past that it overdubs on what I have already recorded. Is there any way to be able to play a pattern for as long as you want without it going back to the beginning of the sequencer and recording over it?

Thanks for any responses, and I know the questions were pretty wordy, so if you need some clarification, please let me know.

Thanks,
John

---------- Post added 12-26-2012 at 03:38 PM ---------- Previous post was 12-25-2012 at 06:53 PM ----------

I thought of a couple more questions. First, is there a way to make the volume of the notes consistent and not dependent on how hard the keys on the midi are pressed?

My second question is, that when I play chords it seems to only pick up one note, so is there a way to enable chords being played through the midi keyboard?

Third, is there a way to record a score in a pattern while the full song is playing?

Thanks,
John