Which DAW should you use?

kimmag

Hello! I'm new here, my name is Kim, and I come from Norway. I've been producing for around 5 years, and I've only been with FL studio. (I bought it some years ago.)

I've been discussing very much lately about which DAW you should choose. Many people says that "Fl studio sucks, its for noobs!" and "Pro tools owns the shit out of FL".
The discussion is non-ending, it lasts forever..

I'm starting to get pretty sick of FL's interface, and I feel that I want to try something new. I produce generally in the genre Hardstyle, hiphop beats, and film scores. Which DAW would you convert to?

I've heard that mostly the DAW's ain't any different from other things than the interface, but if there are any difference in sound quality and so on, please tell me.

So, Pro's and Cons about each DAW would be beautiful. (Cubase, Reason, Pro Tools, Logic, Fl.)

Whichever is the most comfortable for you. Try out a few demos. I personally prefer Reaper.

I've been using reason for couple years and it's great. One huge disadvantage is that it don't support vsti!
I tried reaper and meh I was disappointed liked reason interface much better.

honestly, it's all about SHORTCUTS, KEY-COMMANDS / HOT-KEYS and WORKFLOWS...

demo a few of the more popular ones to figure out which one "CLICKS" for you...that's the only way to really be sure...no way to side-step DEMOING apps...

I use reason because of the interface and my familiarity. I use Reaper for additional reaper. Ive tried FL, and Cubase, but they werent for me. But its really about what makes you comfortable. Stick with FL and add new elements with other programs. Like it was suggested up top, try some demos, Reason, Cubase, ProTools etc...Good Luck, keep rocking!

When it comes to Shortcuts and key commands Reaper is a clear winner as anything and EVERYTHING can be assigned to key commands. Even multiples clicks, going through menus and much more.

Reaper is a clear winner