Ableton Users, prefered method of chopping samples?

Mr. Freeze

I'm fairly new to Ableton and the whole software interface but so far I've come across a few ways to import and chop samples.

I was wondering how you guys go about doing so and which way is the easiest and most practical for you.

I'm not really into beat-matching, auto-slice, etc. type of functions. I just want to do it the good old fashioned way. I've been messing with the sampler in Ableton but it seems a bit limited. Essentially, I just want to be able to dump an audio file in, assign different start points to keys, and play out my sequence this way. Nothing too complicated. Is there an easier way to do this in Ableton that I'm not seeing? Or do you guys prefer to use Kontakt, Recycle, Audition, etc. to chop, then import into Ableton?

If the latter, which instrument/device do you use to import the chops and play them?

Thanks in advance.

I've been wondering this same thing myself. I'm in the same boat as you in that I want to chop up samples (say a vocal) and assign different starting points but I haven't found any easy way of doing it. You can grab a section of audio and put it in impulse, but this isn't quite the way I've been looking to do it. Anyone else??

im using drum racks mpc style...its works for me unless u feel like chopping it in the arrangement view and time warping on ur own using warp markers...

also

If your on version 7 you can always select the loop or portion of a track that you want with the loop marker (bar), right click and chose to slice . It lets you select to slice up the loop into 1/4, 1/8, 1/16 etc. It automatically opens a new midi track with the slices split up. You can assing pads or keys from you midi controller and play then how you want.

Hope that makes sense.

Bryce

Okay, upon further trial and error I think I've found a pretty good workflow for chopping/editing.