The Ableton Live Knowledge Club !

In my opinion, the thing that will make or break warping in Live is the "Set 1.1.1 here" command.

It is the first thing I do when I begin to warp things, as ableton's transient detection does not always play nice with things that are not glued to a grid or don't have clear transients.

Last edited:
I'm a producer and I want to get into recording vocals and just the whole engineering world. Is Ableton Live good for doing that? I don't need it to produce beats I use my MPC for that I just need something to record vocals and mix them. I'm not a die hard Pro Tools kind of guy so I'm trying to find something different.

Thanks

I'd say something more geared towards recording. You can get the job done with Ableton, but there's better qualified Daws out there when it comes to features for recording. I mean like take lanes, comping, individual clip gain etc. You may not necessarily use this right away, but its better not to get so comfortable with a Daw to later find out its behind in some useful features you may want. Ableton kind of does just enough to get audio recorded with the absolute basics you need of editing audio and I'm a big Ableton user saying that.

Reaper, Cubase, ProTools, Studio One, Sonar, Logic are worth looking at.

I recommend trying out Reaper first though because you can use it as much as you want without dropping cash on it before you actually learn the fundamentals. You can go to the site and grab it now.

Hello all, I purchased Ableton Live Intro in Nov. 2015. From working and learning the software I fell in LOVE with Ableton and looking to upgrade to the Live Suite version. The price range is out of my hands, but I was wondering if anybody has a discount coupon I could use or know any other way I could receive one. If you have any information please reply or direct message. Thanks and keep working!