Ableton Live 8 - I'm in need of HELP on a few things.

• Thread starter MetronomeAUDiLE
  • Start date
M

MetronomeAUDiLE

Hello Future Producer's,

I'm in need of some help on a few topics regarding Ableton Live 8, I'm fairly new to the DAW but I know my way around most of it and the basics. I just need to hear from someone who know's Ableton better than I do what the best way to accomplish these are:

For one, in a midi track, it seems you can only have one set playing at a time within that track? So basically if I wanted to have two instances of the same instrument w/ the same effect I would have to duplicate the whole track to have them both playing at the same time? That's kinda funny to deal with coming from a different DAW.

Second, I've seen videos showing automation and what not and I was wondering where do you locate automation for anything and how does that work once you have it up w/ the pink line?

Third, it seems to me a lot in Ableton has been placed in some weird directories, especially when it comes to the beat sequencer interface that comes up once you double click a set inside of a track. How do I extend the length of one set? Even if I did, I noticed that if you do for one set, it stay's default for the rest of them inside of that track which is kind of annoying to do.

I feel as if working w/ Ableton is going to have me creating multiple tracks that I don't need, just to get a simple beat going then I'll have to hassle with adding effect's to each instrument when half of them will be for the same instrument. I guess this is where bussing comes in.