Best Program for making Hip-Hop beats?

I cosign everybody that says it doesn't really matter what program you use, as long as you take the time to learn it. Every DAW is essentially a sequencer, a bunch of instruments and samplers that can be tweaked.

Anything but ProTools, Cubase, Sonar (those are GREAT for recording, but there are much better for beat production). I recommend 'flipping the coin' between Reason, Maschine, Ableton, FL Studio.

Master what you have then upgrade if needed. I started with fruity loops and when it felt right i moved into Logic and Protools. But its not what tools you have but how you use them! Sounds are very important as a producer. Can't never have enough!!

I have been using Reason for about 4 years now and it is a very powerful software. It does take a while to get used to it, but now I can create all of my own synths and have gotten used to the workflow. The problem is that it can't record directly into it and is basically a huge VST software. I recently got Ableton Live and it works perfectly when Rewired to Ableton.

I currently use Reason 5, but I was wondering everybody's opinions on the best software for hip-hop, R&B, and alternative. I like Reason but I feel like I need alot better patches and sounds.

Consider upgrading to 7.

7 has much more features than 5. And with REs, Reason has some great synths.

If u want to go VST, I would look into Ableton for workflow. Logic for built in sounds. Many love FL Studio but I could never get with its workflow.

Most DAWS have only basic built in sounds and most supplement them with VSTs, and other samples.

I actually think Reason has better factory patches than most DAWs other than Logic.

That said any DAW is capable,

Last edited: