About Pads/Synths that don't hold using the Pedal

mystirboy

Hello Good day sir/ma'am!

I'm new to the whole synth/music effects field. I'm currently having problems and the main thing is I'm really not sure what are the exact "keywords" to use for the search. I've checked Google and checked the forums to the best I could using the search button.

So basically my problem is whenever I use pads coupled with stepping on my sustain pedal, the notes always stay on "hold" for as long as my feet is stepping on that pedal.

It really causes a problem for me when I layer it with a piano. When I play notes and/or chords the pad just sustain's all the notes I pressed which in most cases is good for creating a fat atmosphere but I really need something that releases whenever I change notes/chords without having to release my sustain pedal all the time when I change chords just to avoid the pads overlapping and in the process cut my piano sounds sustain.

Sincerely thank you for your time answering this.

Last edited:
Restrict the polyphony on the synth, or out it in some legato mode.

Have no idea if any of that will make any difference, but hey I made an effort. :-)

Probably scrapheapers advice is more solid.

Last edited:
Hmm... to be honest I am kind of new to all theses things... so as much as I am ashamed to admit it... I really didn't understand anything you guys said but I appreciate the effort.

I figured out how to rephrase my problem. "My midi piano has a sustain pedal. So while continuously stepping on the pedal, I want the pad to continue playing when I release the piano key but will stop playing whenever I press a new piano key to avoid "overcrowding" (if that's the right term) of notes."

Hmm... to be honest I am kind of new to all theses things... so as much as I am ashamed to admit it... I really didn't understand anything you guys said but I appreciate the effort.