Synthesizer supporting direct USB to computer and versatile to recording softwares

Andre Nilsen

Hey!
I've never used a synthesizer before, but I've been recording music for the last 10 years now, that mostly metal. Now I'm looking for a synthesizer that can produce music ranging from summer house to background sounds used in bands like Muse etc. This synthesizer needs to support direct USB to the computer, so it works like a plug and play directly to the recording software. For example I'm using reaper to record, so I want a synth that when connected with an USB will work directly with the recording software reaper. Another criteria is that it has to have piano keys or pads.

I've been looking at the electribe, but from my understanding it seems that it only works with ableton live and it needs extra gear to be able to connect with a computer? Also I've checked out the Novation Ultranova, but I have no idea what needs to be bought to make that work with a computer and a recording software.

When recording I want to record each track (sound) sepparately, like when recording guitars, bass, drums etc. Is that possible?

Any help is appreciated!

There aren't a lot of synths that output audio through USB - the only ones I can think of are Access' Virus TI range & Elektron's Analog Four & Keys (with their free Overbridge plugin).

The "extra gear" you need to record everything else is an audio interface.

I have an Virus Ti and it does as you have requested but be warned, you're not thinking this right!