MIDI Contoller...What Are They Good For? Is This a Good Choice?

titalwaves

Since tax season has arrived, I have decided to purchase some more equipment for my "studio set-up".
In addition to buying Monitor Stands & new Headphones, I am also interested in purchasing a MIDI Controller.

My question is:
What is a MIDI Controller used for exactly? I know that it plays a key-role in making beats/instrumentals...That's a given.
But what I wanted to know is...Is it helpful w/ mixing vocals? Not trying to come-off ignorant BUT I am new to this home studio stuff.

Right now I am rocking a Interface, Studio Monitors, a Condenser Mic & a Laptop...Laying vocals down using Pro Tools Express.
My "set-up" is the basic essentials that you need to get into recording at home...Nothing more or less.

Help a Newbie out by explaining why or why I shouldn't purchase a MIDI Controller...By the way I had my eyes on the AKAI Mini MPK 2.
Akai Professional MPK Mini Mk2 | Sweetwater.com
Not only does it have a clean look to it, it is also easy on the pockets AND it is made by AKAI, which is a heavy-weight in the music creation industry.

Either or...Let me know something.
Thanks!

The smaller keys make it harder to play and learn if your new to playing keys.
A midi keyboard is used to play chords and lay down leads and such. If you're only doing vocals, no drums, keyboards, pianos, any other musical addition , there's no need for a midi controller for you.
If you'd like to add other musical components like a piano, drums, synth, etc. to your vocals, a midi controller would be good.
The keyboard you linked is a nice keyboard if you want to be on the road a lot.
I have an impulse 25 for that, with a bag that fits all of the components that I want to use on the road, but it's still a pretty big bag. It's the max size limit for cabin luggage on an airplane.