Anyone Own A MicroKorg?

OGBama

Anyone own a microKORG, microKORG XL or microKORG XL+? I have no prior synth experience and want to own 1 first synth as I already own a digital piano.

Last edited:
I wanted to know if either the Microkorg or the Minilogue would be suitable for a beginner w/no synth experience.

Last edited:
I would go microKorg Bam. The Monologue is more "synth-y," in that you can do some real hands-on tweaking of parameters, but it is also monophonic (so more of a lead or effect instrument). The microKorg has a number of decent presets for starting points, you can still do some tweaking, but it is more "keyboard-y," if that makes any sense. Plug and play, polyphonic; you could do organ or electric piano type sounds if you wanted to, but also see how you like working with a real (hardware, not virtual) synth and then make subsequent decisions from there. It also has the vocoder and some other goodies. But-- if price is a consideration, it's at least $100 more than the Mono, unless you go used (and there are some out there, but of course, buyer beware)...

Last edited:
What's your goal though? I f'n hate programming the MK – it's not that it's hard, but it's more laborous than it should be with its editing matrix. The sound palette may be broader, but the Minilogue has both an excellent interface & it sounds good (and it's actually analog if that kind of thing matters to you). I don't think the MK is very nice for learning synthesis.

As a sidenote the original MK is based on the Korg MS2000, which was one of the first VA synths on the market - actually, it's more or less the same synth, sans the (great) interface of the MS2K. The MKXL is based on the newer Korg Radias, which to many sounds a bit more, well, "plastic" than the MS2K engine. Not that it probably matters much if it's your first synth, but just pointing out that there's a difference that goes beyond the physical dimensions.