What MPC Should I get?

Bog Roll

Hi,

Firstly, please excuse my complete lack of knowledge and 'noobness', i am a complete beginner and i don't really know much about any of this at all.

I have no experience in music production and the use of mpc's & samplers but i'm very interested in getting into it. I want to firstly begin making hip hop, soul and jazzy beats and then hopefully eventually make some electronic beats. I want some hardware that is stand alone, relatively easy to pick up the basics, and inexpensive. It must be stand alone because im not interested in editing,or anything, using a computer or laptop. I want to be able to do live/freestyle sessions, not create songs, as this is just for a fun hobby.

Realistically, what is the minimum i can spend on this? I'm not looking for the best set up in the world, just something simple, effective and fun.
This is an example of the kind of thing i want to do. (with practice)
/watch?v=Xxq2k7jJDZg

Also, is MPC the general term or does it just refer to the akai series? I dont mind getting another brand if akai is not the best for beginners.

p.s. if you have any helpful tips or advice for a beginner, let me know :)

Where are you from and how old are you as age ain't nothin' but a number but it plays a role in understanding that there is a learning curve to what it is you want to know and/or accomplish. The MPC series is Akai.

The new MPCs actually need a computer to work. They do better than a regular MIDI controller, but you still need to use the software. They're also going to run you between $400 and $1,000.