Standalone samplers,sequencers, workstations - guidance

RapAttack

Hello,
I've been producing hip-hop instrumentals for many years, using Reason and a MIDI keyboard (which also has 8 pads).
The fact is that I would like to diminish the usage of the computer in the process of making music. I also want to improve the work flow (for example, choosing a patch in Reason, then playing notes on the keyboard, then going back to the PC and editing etc). I would like to have one device that does everything, without moving between a PC and a controller. Of course that in the end some arrangement and mixing will have to be done on the computer, but that's normal..
Now my question(s) may sound ambiguous, I don't really know what to buy. The budget is around 600$.
Regarding the fact that I would like the device to be portable, I was thinking about the MPC 500 (although I also play keys and drum machines only have pads:D). The cons that I'm thinking about are: weak sample slicing capabilities (so the workflow may be a slow one), having only 12 pads instead of 16. The price is also pretty big.. The pro is portability.

So..

1.Do you know any similar samplers/sequencers/drum machines? I mean other manufacturers besides Akai that make similar machines. The conditions are: the budget that I've mentioned, portability (not necessarily battery powering), standalone, capability to add WAV files from outside via USB, a relatively easy and fast workflow, so I can focus on creativity.
NI (Mikro) Maschine is the only similar device that I've found, but it's not standalone.

2.I would also be interested in some more complex workstations, that also have keys and are standalone. Portability surely isn't concerned here :)

What do you recommend me? Thanks.

What do you think about the drum machines from Alesis, Roland? compared to the Akai MPC.