Sequencer & Sampler Help....???

Chew_Bear

Major Newbie here...

1. Whats the biggest difference between a Sampler and a Step Sequencer...???

There are ALL-IN-ONE solutions. And than, there are some gear that is strictly just for Sampling...OR...Step Sequencing.

2. Should I get a all-in-one solution OR go separate...???

To make it even more complicated...There is also the choice of going either Hardware...OR...Software.

1. Whats the advantages & cons of hardware VS software...? Or is it simply a matter of preference and workflow...?

I also see 'old skool' 'analog looking' hardware samplers/sequencers that are "racked spaced" and have a couple pads/knobs (EMU etc.).

And than there are the 'new skool' type hardware that is all MIDI based and can create its own sounds too...BUT...has more knobs and controls for functionality/versatility (Akai MPC, Ableton PUSH, NI Maschine, Roland, Korg etc.).

1. Should I go old skool or new skool hardware...??? The old skool looks too complicated and 'dinosaur looking'.

Most DAW's come with software samplers and sequencers installed already. (EXS24, UltraBeat, Simpler/Sampler etc.)

And than...there are also 3rd party VST plugin Samplers and Sequencers also. (Battery, Kontakt, Halion, Kong etc.)

1. What are the advantages of going with 3rd party VST plugin samplers/sequencers...VS...Stock or even Hardware...???

2. Are stock DAW samplers/sequencers...NOT as good or efficient as hardware or 3rd party VST plugins...??

So Basically...At any given time...a producer can have anywhere from 1-2 samplers/sequencers when as a beginner...OR...upwards of 8-10 when their a "PRO"...In any combination of the above depending on their needs and workflow right...?

Soooo many CHOICES!!!! Its really confusing.

Help...?!?!?!

Last edited: