Samplers for live purposes

R

RedXIII

Can anyone suggest some good quality standalone samplers that can be used for live situations. I want to be able to use it at home as well, but live I need something the just leaves things looping, has space on for my own samples, effects, etc.

I only intend it for basic use live as I intend to use it for inbetween songs when my bands tuning, etc. Plus the ability to play around with the sample a bit sounds like something that will keep me amused whilst waiting!

My budget is £400 roughly, the Roland SP-555 looks like a possible choice so far.

I keep on asking silly new questions, but I can't help it, just started production at college and i'm fairly new to it all, so be nice, i'll learn over time :D

Cheers!

Last edited by a moderator:
The 555 would be a good choice, but maybe a little bit overkill for what you want.

Look at the 404 as well..

A great machine, with pedigree - and widely touted as an MPC 3000 killer is the Ensoniq ASRx. (you should be able to pick one up for less than £200 - giving you some spare change for something else ;)).

Its very intuitive, has sampler, velocity sensitive pads, resampling, good fx. Much more feature laden than any of the Rolands.

I dont agree with it being an MPC 3000 killer (i have one of those too)- but its a damn fine live performance tool.

The Ensoniq seems pretty hard to find and I would like to get a new sampler rather then something off ebay.

Any other good suggestions?

RedXIII said:
The Ensoniq seems pretty hard to find and I would like to get a new sampler rather then something off ebay.

Any other good suggestions?

There arent many new machines that fit your bill or budget. You might need to wait for an Ensoniq but the build quality is about 1000x better than one of the plasticy rolands. Very reliable machine.

lvngdead said:

I'm a 100% stage performance oriented producer, and I use two SP 808ex for stage performance.