Need help with MPC 2000xl and production

Kockroach

Hey there, I am pretty new to FP - But have been visiting frequently for some time now. I have a deep knowledge of music and production in general, but need help with my MPC.

I'm looking to sample wax with my Tech 12's, and chop it up with my MPC - Add drums, then import the file to my computer where I'll then use it on ProTools and record live bass/guitar.

I'm pretty sure my MPC only has a floppy drive - How can I transfer the files to my computer?

I've been told to use an External ZIP Drive; How is that hooked up/used with the mpc?

Any advice or guidance is greatly appreciated. Sorry if I posted in the wrong section. Thank you, Roach.

U don't import anything u record it to the computer from the outputs in back to your soundcard. This also belongs in the hardware sequencer area. Get a compact flash reader for your mpc and pay someone to install it

As Xabiton said, you'll have to record your tracks from the mpc into your daw.

You could get the mcd expansion kit from MPC Stuff MPC 2000 XL MCD Card Reader Kit, but you can get it a lot cheaper if you manage to find the proper parts yourself (google for it, there is a tutorial on what you need for it). Installing this won't enable you to transfer the beats from your mpc to your computer on disk, you will still have to record them, but you'll be able to transfer sounds from the computer to your mpc without recording them.

U could get a usb floppy drive also to transfer sounds as mpcs 2000s and newer read wav files at 16 bit 44.1

If i was you id ask this question over at mpc-forums.

yes you can import sounds into your mpc 2000xl i do with a program called "mpc editor" (which is acutally created by a mpc-forums member)

i save the program files onto a floppy via a usb floppy drive then i import them into the 2kxl.

you can also record/ sample sounds into the mp...

for those who dont know.....cop "mpc editor" its only like 30 bucks.