MPC 2500 Motif XS6

T-Jac

I'm new to both motif xs6 and mpc 2500, but I've owned a mpc 4k and a Motif8.....
I'm using the MPC 2500 as my master and the Motif xs6 as my controller/sound module.

here's the question..

how do i record an arpeggio from the motifxs 6 into my mpc 2500. and also use other tracks. Is it possible? i know i have to be in multi mode to use more than one sound, but once i do that I lose the arpeggio...

any help is well appreciated and needed :-)

Do you want to transfer the midi of the arpeggio to the mpc? Doing that you will lose ppq resolution. You can check the manual of the MO6/8, it has some config charts for this in the appendix, perhaps it will work on the XS too.

What I do is just do all my sequencing on the Motif and the drum sequencing on the MPC separately and then just sync them. That way you won't have to get mixed up. Just go in to UTILITY, then MIDI, and set the clock to MIDI and set the MPC to Sync on which ever out you have the Motif hooked up to. When you push play on the MPC they both will start together. This works well for me.

Junekat, do you have local control off on your Motif? I'm having all sorts of trouble getting my 2500 synced with my Motif. Also what mode are you using on your Motif to get the different sounds on different tracks?

i know how to sync my mpc 2500 to the motif.. that's not a problem. i just want to use arpeggios in mix/pattern mode i guess. is that possible?

My goal is to use the MPC as my main sequencer and then slave that to pro tools and dump/track all my audio into pro tools. I don't want to sequence in the motif cause that will be too much going on. I'd rather just sequence in the MPC and use the motif as a sound generator. but again, in order to make the motif multi timbral you have to go to either mix or pattern. and once i do that i lose my arpeggios. hopefully you understand what i mean....
and yes I want to record the arpeggios (midi) into the mpc.