I want to produce jazz based hip hop, what sampler should I get?

slayerpianoman

Hi! So I'm just starting out and my desire is to become a producer who makes music similar to Nujabes or Dj Premier, where it's mainly jazz based samples and chill nostalgic beats. I would love some solid good sounding boom bap beats and warm analogue sounding drums and samples. The key is the warmth for me :P I have an SP 404, but the sound is too heavy for me, it's like it's too digital to feel good to my ear. I want my drums to sound punchy like a sp 1200 or older sampler, and I want the general tone of my work to be warm like analogue instead of harsh like the 404. I'm way too poor to buy a 1200, but would something like the 303 or an older mpc do the trick? I can't seem to find enough evidence for anything lol some people say the 2000xl is a dream for hip hop production, some say it sucks compared to the 3000, I feel kind of lost, and I don't have enough money to invest in anything too expensive. Again, a good oldschool warm sound is key. I am aware of the power of computer software, I think I'm going to download FL studio, but I really dig hardware samplers. Any thoughts? Thanks so much!

Looking to make jazz based hip hop, what sampler should I get?