How to make an MPk49 Operate like and MPC

D

djmode5

I'm new at this whole producing game. Basically i know that an MPC is very essential to creating good hip-hop tracks. I was wondering if you can chop up and speed samples on a MPK49 the same way you would on an MPC... If not, can I use Pro Tools and a MPK49 together and it'll be the same thing as a regular MPC...

understand the mpk is just a controller. i've never used it with protools so I can't front and act like i can give you good advise. But with reasons, I can edit a sample then load it into recycle and chop in there. I then just load that into an nnxt and there it is. can use the pads to trigger them..the nnxt allows you to adjust pitch, speed and all that other stuff.

djmode5 said:
I'm new at this whole producing game. Basically i know that an MPC is very essential to creating good hip-hop tracks. I was wondering if you can chop up and speed samples on a MPK49 the same way you would on an MPC... If not, can I use Pro Tools and a MPK49 together and it'll be the same thing as a regular MPC...

There is so much wrong with this it almost hurts me to answer. A mpc is not essential to creating good hiphop at all so knock that rumor out now. ( same with pro tools ) Also no program + anything is a mpc except a mpc ...... period. A mpc is not a magical box that spits out great music. Can you use a mpk and a vsti to chop , transpose and build beats, sure. Pro tools is 1 option but it is not the only nor is it the best. Looks like you have ALOT of research to do before you spend a dime as you have your head filled with industry hype. What gear do you actually own for starter?

i own nothing..what do you have spectrum... what's your non hyped answer on making great hip hop...