help me out On either a s900 or s3000xl sampler.

dmajor100

Ive been hip to thr software samplin for some time and did have a mpc 3000 for a while but traded it for a 4000. Im still learning the 4000 but a part of me still wants That vintage Sound and to get my drums gritty while i sample hi fi loops in my 4k. Im seeing both s900 and a s3000xl for 159 On ebay and wondering which would best suit me. Or should i just spend 200 On a s950 and be done with it?

s900 hundred my nigg trust i had an s900 and iff u cop 1 u best treasure it the sound out that beeyatch is lo fi and is limited when it comes to sample time iff u want that clean analog i suggeast doin ur research and dont jus buy cause its an impulse buy do ur research if u want lofi gritty get it otherwise it'll be kickn up dust ' trust fam its a phase everythin now and days is clean an if u like gritty get it ,, but thee only pain is tranferen ur samples namen them and that whole ordeal' but from experience u get bored wit it after a while i personally like flowing gwit my ideas so i tend to use ans only use fl studio but thats another thread ' like a wise man said iff it isnt broke dont fix it ''

Last edited:
If you can pick up an S900 locally you should go for it because they are quite heavy and you will also want to make sure it works (be sure to power it on at least twice when testing) because they are like 20+ years old. Because you can boot the S900 with OS 4 from floppy there is not much advantage to having an S950 unless you can find one that has already been fitted with expansion options (most of the expansion options are rare and expensive often costing more than the sampler itself).

The only thing ill be using either unit for is to phatten up my most favorite drum sounds. So i know i wont be using it all the time unless i know a track could use those kinda drum sounds