Need Urgent Help With My Set Up!

Elite-O

So I just bought a Tascam US 122L and installed the newest driver for 64 bit windows cus i use Windows 7 On my 2010 Gateway NV54 laptop. I also bought an Audio Technica Cardoid condenser microphone. So I plugged everything in and Im using audacity by the way and everytime i record it sounds like crap. It sounds unclear and crackly and i dont know why. I took my equipment minus my laptop to a local music store and everything worked fine. So im guessin it has something to do with my laptop or program can someone please help me out and give me some advice on what to do to get my stuff working like it should?. It would be much appreciated since im new to this and this is my first attempt to making my first mixtape and i have the music down but the vocals sounds crackly and i dont know what to do.

Are you monitoring through soundcard or laptop?
Did your vocals clip during recording stage? (Probably not since it sounded ok at the shop)
Is your laptop properly configured?
Are you using ASIO drivers?
What OS are you using.

Windows Vista and Windows 7 are not supported.

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:57 PM ----------
Doesn't
Tascam US 122L ship with Cubase LE ???

Last edited:
Im monitoring through my laptop and no my vocals arent clipping during the recording. My laptop has all stock gear except an upgraded memory and ram. Im jus using the newest driver i found on the Tascam website and im not sure what OS means so i dont know which one im using. Also it did come with Cubase LE but I lost the CD and the guy at the music store said that the newest Audacity works better then the first Cubase. And what do you mean Windows 7 isnt supported?

Sorry, Audacity is still in beta stages with version 1.3
Looks like the problem is with your laptop settings.
what audio driver are you using for playback?.......check the buffer settings on your laptop audio.
Try asio drivers.
google ASIO4ALL and download.