Need Help! A simple audio Set-up

LeAkeem

Hi there guys! I need some help.

I recently bought a $180 condenser microphone that connects to the computer via USB. My problem is noise issues. Even in an environment that I think is already quiet, there is noise. I'm a newbie at this. I've done my research but I think it is not enough.

Is there any free/cheap software that acts like a filter before the signal goes into say... audacity or any streaming app (skype perhaps?) so that noise would be removed?

In post, any suggestions on how to deal with this? My experience with audacity and too much noise reduction is that audio gets messed up.

Thank you!

One of the benefits/drawbacks of condenser mics is that they are very sensitive, and tend to pick up everything. Really best used in pro studio (soundproofed) environment. You can try the usual suggestions (hang heavy blankets around the recording space, record in a closet, record at times when ambient noise levels are low etc) with some measure of success. You don't say what you're trying to record - for voice, tbh a dynamic mic probably would have been a better choice (less sensitive, more directional). There's really no way to eliminate the noise in real time with software. After the fact though, if the noise has a pattern there are tools (inside a DAW) that can automate removal. Random ambient noise can only be removed by manual editing.

Hi! Thank you for the response. I got too excited with the mic that I overlooked that one bit of detail. I am trying to record voice and instruments. Sometimes voice only: singing or speaking.

That blanket suggestion, I'll try that.

Thanks for the tips!

I'll try to upload later a sample track to show what my problem is.