Need advice on studio equipment for beginner producer..(sorry if repeating thread)

Dnb

Sup guys I'm a newbie to this forum, and I appreciate you've probably had millions asks this but basically I wanna start producing in the summer as a side thing as it's always been something I've wanted to do. Specifically house/drum and bass music if that matters. Just wondering what i'd need to get started up.

So right now I'm thinking:

-midi keyboard
-audio interface (any recommendations?)
-software (i'll probably buy fl studio or Ableton, Windows user)
-studio monitors, looking at the yamaha hs5/7's
-headphones which I already have - audio technica ath m50s

I like the look of those Novation pad things they look awesome

Budget is around £500-700

Anything else? I know it will take a long time to learn the software but I'm willing to do so, I appreciate any replies to this, cheers.

Last edited:
I use the HS7's - they're good... I tried the 5's in store and they lacked bass extension. The 7's were on point. I tried KRKs and M-Audios and some others in store... Never regretted walking out with the HS-7s.
That said - I used to own the old blue Tannoy Reveals - they were very good too and the new version are apparently better.

Interface - what are you wanting to run into it (or out) in the longterm?
if it's just a mic for vocals then a simple 2in/2out Focusrite Scarlett will see you right.
If you plan on messing with synths/drum machines - outboard then you'll need to up scale.

Keys. - I'm a Novation fan - Impulse 49 does me with no worries.

DAW - Doesn't really matter - try a few - pick the one you most get along with.
I swap between StudioOne (Presonus) V2 and Cubase (Steinberg) 5 but do most of my stuff in Maschine (NI) before it hits a DAW.

ATH-50s are awesome. Decent set of cans to start with. You made a good choice there.

Anything else... RAM upgrade (never hurts), decent cables, Take 2 weeks off work and treat your new studio like a full time job in that time.