Mpc 2000xl and s900/s950 set up questions

LucRyan

Hello, im still fairly new to the forums and i am still learning about hardware. At the moment i have an mpc 2000xl and im looking to buy an s900 or s950. I have a few questions. Im looking to get a 12 bit sound out of these sampler and im not sure if it's better to just use it to sample sounds and then use my mpc to trim, edit etc. Or would it be better to connect them (s900 or s950) via midi to the mpc 2000xl and use it as a sampler? Also if i used the s900/950 as a sampler and mpc 2000xl as a sequencer does the midi connection limit any of these machines? Ex. If i sampled into the s900 could i go on my mpc2000xl time stretch and still trim/ edit on the s900? Im also a bit confused on what it's like to connect these machines with midi. Thanks

Is it better to sample in the s900/s950 and resample with the mpc 2000xl or utilize the s900/s950 with midi and have it work with my mpc 2000xl

Use MIDI for sure. resampling will have SOME of the texture, but not all of it.
What you should do is sample your things at 45rpm+8% on your turntable into the s950, then pitch it own, this saves memory + gives a lot more crunch, sounds much better actually.

At first the s950 will be hard to work with, but you'll get into it and after a while it'll be real comfortable to work with.

There are advantages to working both ways, for example by triggering the S900/950 you can play samples at different velocities etc, by sampling it into the MPC you can overcome memory limitations.

Editing on hardware such as the S900/950 is a dead easy if you can work with the numerical key pad, that is if you use a little basic math, other than that a good way to edit is to use an old waveform editor such as Squash it! by Electronic Cow running in an Atari emulation on a modern computer.