Maschine + 4 Track Cassette

Hey Guys

Got a question that may not make much sense but here it goes....

I want to start getting into tape overdrive, but not through the usual means of using an mpc200xl or sp. Ive been wondering if its possible to hook-up a 4 track recorder through maschine? I am a bit of a rookie when it comes to hardware as i have been using software for almost 4 years but I'm super keen to try and some-how get that nice tape compression through my machine work-flow. Any explanation of set-up and correct hardware would be much appreciated.....IE can i buy any old 4 track recorder? do i need to use a DAW? or can i pump it through machine stand alone?

Many thanks,
CheeseMelter.

The 2000xl and so are not tape saturation you get that from going onto tape hot and I love when people try new things in there production. Its going to depend on the tape machine you get and how hard you hot it to get that fat saturated effec. Keep us posted on the project.

Cheers Solacerodgers,

So if i get a tape machine would it be a case of hooking up the outs in maschine to the tape machine, then recording onto it then recording back onto my computer? If that the case it shouldn't really be an issue. I just want to bypass a daw to get rid of undesirable workflow.

:)

I don't use machine but if the box has audio outputs then yes you can go right to tape for mixdown if not then you will have to route soundcard/interface from machine to tape. Either way you can skip a saw and get hands on.

I recently picked up an old Tascam 246 4 track cassette to to do what your on about.

I'm not sure if you'll get that tape saturation/overdrive that you are wanting from cassette but it will defiantly colour the sound (which I quite like)
Plus It's great fun too.

If you have the cash might be better off saving up for a 4 track reel to reel?

Does Maschine have a multiple output sound card built in? I use an Emu 1820m and Reason 7.