I'm 16, I want to start producing hip hop/electro beats. I have $1000 to spend.

Viantef

Hi, I'm 16 and I'm a computer programmer. Currently learning how to build iPhone Apps, look out for the release of "SneakerSpy" next month, It's a nike sneakerbot app.

Enough babbling, for some reason I became mildly intrigued by the idea of producing hip-hop beats ever since I let my friends use my MacBook to record their songs. I currently only have a Macbook Air and Logic Pro X. I understand fundamental music theory (Played trumpet for 4 years). However, I have little knowledge on what tutorials to watch to and what hardware to buy. I don't what a Controller is, nor its function.

This guy recommended me to buy a Akai LP25 and Manschine Mikro. Yeahhhh, all I know is that people make beats on the manschine and the LP25 is just a keyboard. :sigh:

Any reference to tutorials to old threads, youtube videos would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

It is not hard to find tutorials just type it to you tube. I love landmarq music group so watch him if you want. For making beats i would say you need midi keyboard (25 or 49 key is enough) , you can do without it but it is much easier with it and maschine is good but you have other controllers so look around a little what you can get. With controller you play sounds and do other things in daw instead with keyboard. For mixing it would be good to have monitors althoug i don't have them yet. As you are on mac i think it is best for you to work with logic, but you also have garageband,ableton,reason and others (try the demos). I think 1000$ would be enough for all stuff.

Last edited: