How do Producers Find the RIGHT computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

-/-

I've made a few threads on this topic lately and if you look at my recent posts you can tell im struggling with running things smoothly in Fruity Loops...Which really got me thinking...Do you think these producers run into latency issues or slow/crashing plugins? Like i've seen various videos of dudes like cardiak,metro, sonny digital, whole 808 mafia making bangers on LAPTOPS with no glitchy static in the background...And we all know those dudes rape nexus,gladiator, etc...So basically how can I get a setup like theirs? Im not a beginner I know what I'm doing, I have an i7 laptop and I run into crashing with this music software at least once a day...it wack as hell

Last edited:
guys like that pay techies to customise and fine tune their settings

in some cases you may find that they are using carillion or similar music purposed machines to do the job

me, salem and holland amongst many others have obviously spent time tuning our own systems

there are various hits for tune insert-your-os for music production at google, read a few and start applying the ideas

use sata drives rather than usb drives. If you must use external storage use network connected drives

comparison table for various peripheral busses theoretical speed for data transfer.....

USB 1.0192kb/s
10 base T Etherenet1.25mb/s
USB 2.01.5mb/s
100 base T Ethernet12.5mb/s
ATA-13316.7mb/s
Firewire 40050mb/s
USB 2.0 High60mb/s
Firewire 80080mb/s
1000 base T Ethernet100mb/s
SATA-300375mb/s
USB 3.0625mb/s

and whilst USB 3.0 offers the highest theoretical speeds, it is still lumbered with a few layers of os protocol that will stifle that speed

use internally connected soundcards (PCI slots and variants thereof) or at least soundcards that connect via firewire or ethernet (less common, but available)

only configure your machine for essential tasks - i.e have a second machine for lyrics, a 3rd machine for internetz and sh1te