Headphone specifications to pay attention to?

Trip Lykely

I just registered and have been searching through the forum about what headphones I should buy. My skill level and budget doesn't allow me to get a proper setup with monitors, etc. but I'd at least like to get some quality headphones that I can mix/master adequately with.

My background is so far from having a clue as to what to look for when shopping. I plan on buying a pair after work today and can spend up to about $200 but would like to go lower if I can get away with it. I saw a lot of recommendations for various sets but couldn't find anything on the specifications I should be looking for? Any help is greatly appreciated.

------------------------------
Made with a 10 year old lap top and earbuds. Any and all feedback appreciated

https://www.futureproducers.com/for...oint-anyone-but-me-think-its-any-good-538176/

hd 280
m50x
srh440
srh840
m audio q40
hd 598
hd448
Wilkins
Vmoda
Maudio nova.
hd201
hd202
denon 2000
dt770
dt880
dt990
akg k240
akg q701
pioneer HDJ 500
Hifiman HE 400
Akg k702

Last edited:
Thanks for the response but I don't know what your response means. Those are specific models I should consider? I've seen a lot of threads recommending all kinds of headphones but none explaining which specifications make them good (adequate) for mixing/mastering. Of the ones you listed, which ones are good for a newb on a budget trying to get his skill up before investing for quality gear? I appreciate the help and any insight on specs is awesome

{Bass/Glitch} At this Point - anyone but me think it's any good?

Last edited:
The main thing is to look for ones with open shells.. so you're not gonna be bringing this baby onto busy train. Everyone will hear what you hear, lol..
But what that also does is make sure the bass doesn't build up too much and give a more balanced sound.