Questions re transitioning from analogue PC setup to digital Mac setup

aashley

Hi all,

I have a home studio(all PC, analogue) for many years and am now making the transition toa Macbook Pro and would like some advice, as I've not exactly kept upwith technology over the last few years.

I'm mentally goingthrough the process of putting together a setup and am realising thatno matter what, I need to either get new studio equipment or create abridge between the Mac and the analogue setup, due to connectivityetc.

My current PC setup inits most basic form:
Terratec Phase 22 soundcard (1/4” jack in/out) going into Behringer Eurorack UB1622FXmixing desk used for recording external sources and taking the PCaudio output and feeding my active Behringer Truth monitors. MIDIcontroller into Phase 22 via 5 pin DIN.

My mixing desk is setup as follows. I have a sub group and a master group. PC audio outgoes to 2 hard-panned channels routed to the master, which then playsthrough the speakers and headphones. Then all other channels (audioinputs, such as mics, guitars etc.) are routed to the sub group whichgoes directly into my DAW via the audio in, which is used forrecording. Effects (in the mixer) get routed to the master to supportthe performance (such as verb on the vox, overdrive on guits etc.)but are not recorded into my DAW, which helps massively when thereare latency issues when using the DAW to add FX live. This gives me agreat setup with a lot of control and I get a great performance.

As you can imagine it'sold, latency ridden and audio quality is reduced through so muchcabling and potentially lower resolution elements in the chain.

Now, when it comes toupgrading it seems to get complicated... as I'd like to retain thosefeatures (routing with FX to one out different to dry to DAW etc.)where possible and on a fairly limiting budget.