How do I connect my Scarlett 2i4 interface with my monitors to my computer?

eenie

Hello All,

I just recently bought an audio interface to improve the accuracy of my mixes as my computer's soundcard is garbage. Now the audio interface works fine as I connected it to my computer using a 3.5mm TRS to dual 1/4in TS cable which works with headphones. However, I want to connect my audio interface with my presonus 4.5 eris monitors but it seems to me that I may have to buy another set of cables to make this work?

I am new to audio engineering/producing music and want to learn how to properly connect the devices I am using.

Thank you!

xlr to trs the best type imo but trs to trs is also an option and double xlr to 3.5 with 1/4 adapter as well.
I have a 2i2 and a ur22 had to research that a while back myself.

The Eris doesn't have but TRS & RCA inputs - so I'd go TRS & TRS here (not that RCA is really any worse, maybe theoretically a bit more prone to interference). The other speaker connects from the first one via regular speaker cable.

The Eris doesn't have but TRS & RCA inputs - so I'd go TRS & TRS here (not that RCA is really any worse, maybe theoretically a bit more prone to interference). The other speaker connects from the first one via regular speaker cable.

Yup, you are correct. My Eris speakers only allow RCA/TRS inputs. Which TRS cables do you guys recommend for a beginner? Is it fine to buy the cheaper models from amazon?

Also, I want to clarify on how to connect it properly. If I want the scarlett to work as my default PC sound driver, it worked when I plugged it in the computer by using the 3.5mm TRS cable to dual 1/4 cable and connecting my headphones in the front of the 2i4. Would I just connect 1 TRS cable to one of the front Mic Pres?

Thanks to KonKossKang and krushing for your input!